Giving Thanks

IMG_3416

I am your typical American in many ways. I am privileged. I have everything I need. I get myself things that I want. I have a job. A home. A family.

Yet, often I find myself wanting more. Searching for something else to buy, filling the space around me. I want to upgrade. I want it bigger. I want it better.

Is it ever enough?

Don’t get me wrong. I’m happy and  I constantly think about how lucky I am in so many ways. But I’d be lying if I didn’t say how much I love little luxuries like new clothes, pretty shoes, beautiful home furnishings, and things of the like. An adoration for material things creates a vicious cycle– the more you get, the more you want.

But whenever this time of year rolls around and we gather to give thanks, I like to reflect on what it is that I am grateful for in my life. And you know what? It’s never for the knitted blanket I just bought, the array of cozy-chic sweaters I treated myself to, or the tube new lipstick I brought home with me.

When it comes down to it, I am thankful for memories, people, pets, and promises of the future. The things you can’t necessarily touch.

Thankful.

My little sister and her dog, Coal. Our friends found this dog and my dad and stepmom made him a part of their family.

My little sister and her dog, Coal. Our friends found this dog and my dad and stepmom made him a part of their family.

Coal!

Coal!

Thankful.

My friend, Mark, who tried (unsuccessfully) to leap across a creek while we took a winter hike. It's moments like these that always make you smile and you never ever forget.

My friend, Mark, who tried (unsuccessfully) to leap across a creek while we took a winter hike. It’s moments like these that always make you smile and you never ever forget.

Thankful.

Old friends….

IMG_2506 IMG_2509 IMG_2510 IMG_2484

Newer friends…

IMG_2550 IMG_2573 IMG_2647 IMG_3886

And of course, Friendsgiving.

IMG_4523

Thankful.

My mom and stepdad adopted this stray kitty we found in July '13 after Taste of Tremont. They named her Lorelei.

My mom and stepdad adopted this stray kitty we found in July ’13 after Taste of Tremont. They named her Lorelei.

Thankful.

My pet-loving, artist of a little stepsister.

My animal-loving, artist of a little stepsister.

My bug-loving little half-sister.

My bug-loving little half-sister.

Thankful.

My angel and my devil.

My angel and my devil.

IMG_4602

IMG_4463

Thankful.

That I moved to Colorado with this guy.

That I moved to Colorado with this guy.

And then moved back to Cleveland with him.

And then moved back to Cleveland with him.

Thankful.

Like many others, I love the Christmas music and the shopping that has become a part of the holiday season. But despite all of the commercial glam that encourages people like myself to shop til you drop, this time of year has a way of reminding me what’s really important. Acts of kindness, hilarious mistakes, travel nightmares, memories of the years behind us, moments with those who are here with us now, delightfully naughty animals,  recipes passed down from generations, keeping traditions alive and starting new ones, forgiveness, and a little extra time away from work to soak it all in.

What are you thankful for?

~Steph

One thought on “Giving Thanks

  1. Pingback: For Auld Lang Syne | Beautiful Days Gone By

Leave a Reply

