Flying

DSC_4124It’s the only word to describe my dogs as they charged through golden fields on Saturday.

DSC_4125

As soon as we freed Denver and Colette from their leashes, they flew.

DSC_4153

DSC_4143

DSC_4128 DSC_4130

Their bodies were flying.

Their spirits were flying.

DSC_4205

I had never seen our timid, cautious girl smile like this before.

DSC_4168

Just a happy, glowing soul, wiggling her butt and tearing through the meadow, the way all doggies should.

DSC_4179

DSC_4244 DSC_4170 DSC_4256 DSC_4322 DSC_4488

I’m sometimes nervous to take our pups off of their leashes. I worry that they’ll see a critter or catch a whiff of something and take off until they are out of sight. But Mike has a little more trust in his heart and wears a cloak of confidence about these things, so he quietly does what needs to be done. And thank goodness. Because as soon as I see this…

DSC_4377

DSC_4321 DSC_4342 DSC_4261

…I let go and I understand.

They need this.

This is what their life is all about.

Space.

Air.

Grass.

Flying.

DSC_4223

DSC_4127

This tall, grassy meadow fills them glee.

DSC_4391 DSC_4404 DSC_4402

DSC_4241 DSC_4295 DSC_4333 DSC_4338 DSC_4351

A pure, deep happiness that I’m not sure humans ever feel in such an unadulterated way.

And watching them live this truth reminds me of what’s important. Their fearlessness calms me. It reminds me to have faith in myself and in the world around me. It reminds me to trust. To explore. To wonder. To breathe. To take it all in.

DSC_4354

DSC_4434 DSC_4453 DSC_4411 DSC_4413 DSC_4473

DSC_4155

And if I can do all of that… if I can feel just a fraction of what my dogs feel in those field of gold… then I can even fly a little too.

~Steph

5 thoughts on “Flying

  1. Stephanie — I just found your blog (we both commented on The Daybook) and I’m so happy I did! This is the first post I’ve read but I love it. I’ve been wanting a dog so badly lately (pretty sure my neighbors are afraid of me since I’ve started harassing them to let me play with their dogs), but because of apartment rules and frequent travel I have to wait a little bit longer. So now I can live vicariously through you and your pups! They’re beautiful.

    Thanks for sharing pieces of your life with all of us! Can’t wait to read more.

    Alison
    http://lavieambrose.blogspot.com/

    • Hi Alison! Thanks for the comment! I pined away for a dog for a year and half before I finally got my boyfriend to cave– it’s well worth the wait! Our dogs add such a wonderful dimension to our life. I hope you get yours sooner than you think! In the mean time, enjoy mine all you want! Looking forward to exploring your blog as well!

      Stephanie

  2. Pingback: For Auld Lang Syne | Beautiful Days Gone By

Leave a Reply

