Happy Friday the 13th!

The weekend is upon us and I am thrilled. But I am also scared.

Cause it’s Friday the 13th.

And I’m superstitious.

friday-the-13th-art_original

Illustration by Stacy Innerst

I also love all holidays and take them very seriously (in a kitchy, not-so-serious sort of way). Maybe it’s the rituals and traditions that surround the holidays that I take so seriously, actually. Like every Christmas (okay, the month and a half leading up to Christmas) I have to watch Christmas Vacation at least 3 times (and be able to quote 1/2 the movie), Elf at least twice, It’s a Wonderful Life once, and Cleveland’s pride, A Christmas Story at least 6 times in order to feel like it’s actually the holiday season. Even on Groundhog’s Day, every single year, I have to watch the Bill Murray movie. So I always seriously think something bad is going to happen on Friday the 13th.

Tuesday morning, 5 minutes before I was supposed to be in my car driving to work, I had Denver and Colette out for their morning walk. Colette has quite the nose on her– she always has it to the ground, sniffing everything out. She’ll find anything stinky and roll around in it, smiling the whole darn time. The other morning was no different… or maybe it was. Because she sniffed and found a steaming, hot, fresh pile of diarrhea. And she rolled in it. A lot. I looked down at her, not knowing what she was rolling in yet and I smiled at how sweet and happy she looked. So vulnerable and delighted, with her belly up and her legs flopped out. Then she got up. And I saw it. A thick, goopey pancake of poo smushed into her shoulder. “Crap”, I thought to myself. “Shit”, I thought to myself. Literally. Crap. Shit. On my dog.

IMG_3995

I was already dressed and ready for work. And I had to be in my car in 5 minutes! I tried as best I could to walk the dogs home without getting poop on my clothes. Instead Denver and Colette bumped bodies the whole way home, so the diarrhea smeared onto Denver too. And then he tried the lick some of it off. When I finally cleaned them up and got into my car (already late for work), the highway entrance was shut down for construction so I had to find another way. Eventually I made it.

This was not Friday the 13th. This was a normal morning in my life. I am okay with this, because look how cute those little trouble-making pups are.

IMG_3967 IMG_3996 IMG_3999 IMG_4003 IMG_4004 IMG_4006

But if that’s just a normal morning, what is Friday the 13th going to be like?

We’re taking our class on their first field trip of the year tomorrow, to The West Side Market. Let’s hope that karma is on my side.

Happy Friday (the 13th)!

Until next time.

~Steph

One thought on “Happy Friday the 13th!

  1. Pingback: Friday Finds (September 13) | Cleopatra Loves Books

Leave a Reply

