Love & Wonder

Hello and Happy Thursday! It is the first day of August (Eeeek! Time flies!) and the weekend is almost here. But before we start thinking about this weekend, I wanted to reflect a bit more on last weekend.

So, amidst the hustle and bustle of getting ready for my birthday party last Saturday, I took some time to paint my nails… and then they needed to dry before I could touch anything and continue cleaning the house. Naturally, I chose to settle in with a Netflix because I just cannot sit still for more than, errrr 4 seconds, without something to distract me.

Mike and  I worked through The Wonder Years series a couple of years back, but there’s nothing like visiting with an old friend, right? (Hence, why 4 months after completing seasons 1-8 of The Office, we have started over and are working through that again. And hence why my mom and I are moving through Gilmore Girls again after completing the series a few years ago). I don’t know, call me crazy, but I get very attached to fictional characters and their lives and I just don’t want to let them go.

220px-The_Wonder_Years

Wonder-Years-Pilot_400So, Saturday morning I cuddled up on our new (to us) sectional (pictures to come!) and watched the pilot of The Wonder Years. I could only hope little Kevin Arnold was as excited to see me as I was to see him. In the 25 minutes that I escaped into the suburban 60’s, I laughed a lot. And then, I cried.

wonder_300x203

The_Wonder_Years_still_slide_3_MITMVC

Click and listen to this song as you read the rest of the post.

Perhaps it’s because it was my 25th birthday and that made me feel aware of time and growing up. Perhaps it was my knack for living a nostalgic life. Perhaps it was the poignancy and fleeting magic that is childhood. Perhaps it was my memory of watching the last scene (link to video at end of post) for the first time on Nick at Nite 15 years ago, and having it epitomize true love for me ever since. Perhaps it was the voice of Percy Sledge. Perhaps it was some combination of all of this. Whatever it was, it was a moment from my birthday that I won’t be forgetting soon. It felt good to have that little sentimental moment all to myself.

It made me think about love and how powerful it is, even at such a young age. I believe that people can feel strong, overwhelming love at any age. It’s the thing about people that (hopefully) never changes. The ability to love and to be loved back. To care and to be cared for. To act with tenderness and to receive tenderness. To share in things. Over the years, people mature, they form values, those values change… sense of humor might shift, intellectual capacity grows, and people evolve as they age. But if they move through life without becoming too hurt or damaged, then they always love. And that capacity for love stays true. It’s part of being a human. There are so many things about us that are immensely different, but in the end, we’re all about love.

On my 25th birthday, I felt so much love from so many people and I was reminded of how much love I have in my life every single day.

And I think that’s a wonder to behold.

I hope the same it true for all of you.

Click photo to watch the clip I'm referring to!

Click photo to watch the clip I’m referring to! If you’re impatient, scroll up to the 1 minute mark.

Until next time.

~Steph

Leave a Reply

