Does Anything Make You Feel More Alive?

Than being outside? Whether it’s a stroll through town with your friend, kayaking on the lake, having dinner on the front porch, or hiking through the woods, I think I feel most alive when I am outside.

Now don’t get me wrong- homegirl likes her air conditioning and wifi– I’m not sure if I’d appreciate the outdoors quite as much if I didn’t know I’d have a comfortable indoor retreat at home!

drunk patios

But truly, I welcome the opportunity to get outside and breathe.

A couple of weekends ago Mike & I took a trip to The Ledges Trail in the Cuyahoga National Park. (I read about this hike, as well as some other fun things to do in Cleveland here). Though the hike itself was pretty easy (call us weirdos, but we like a hike that leaves us winded and sprawled out on boulders by the end… must be the Colorado in us), it was absolutely gorgeous. You’d never think such a majestical place was nestled in between suburbs of Greater Cleveland.

DSC_3692 DSC_3379 DSC_3413 DSC_3673 DSC_3667

I loved the striking contrast of the bright green moss and the dulled out, weathered wood of the trees.

The thing I love about Ohio is how green it is.

DSC_3664 DSC_3484 DSC_3510

DSC_3659

DSC_3477 DSC_3472

And I honestly was shocked by how tall these ledges were!

DSC_3382 DSC_3387 DSC_3388 DSC_3390

Mike and I both were also very proud of how handsome Mister Denver looked in the wilderness– very rugged, no?

DSC_3467 DSC_3433

His mama was clearly doting on him… a lot.

DSC_3429 DSC_3459 DSC_3462

And then he doted on me… when I was trying to sneak off to pee.

MOM! WAIT!

MOM! WAIT! YOU COULDN’T POSSIBLY WANT TO PEE ALONE, RIGHT?!?!???

It was such a great day– we got to hike in the cool, damp shade of the trees, and then after a couple of miles, the trail opened up to a great big field. We let Denver off his leash to do what he does best– puppy prancing.

DSC_3586

somersault?

DSC_3605 DSC_3604 DSC_3595 DSC_3577

And puppy bouncing.

DSC_3607 DSC_3606 DSC_3608 DSC_3610While out in nature, we naturally saw some chipmunks in action.

DSC_3408And other lovely views.

DSC_3519It was a balmy, sticky, sweaty, beautiful day, and I look forward to many more days just like that one.

DSC_3584 DSC_3419 DSC_3450

Another reason why Cleveland rocks.

If you don’t have anything planned for the weekend, why not get outside?

Until next time!

~Steph

 

One thought on “Does Anything Make You Feel More Alive?

  1. Pingback: For Auld Lang Syne | Beautiful Days Gone By

Leave a Reply

