What Do You Want Wednesday? This Summer I Want….

DSC_3266

This summer I want to…

-Go to the drive-in

drive in

-Plant a vegetable garden

-Get a tan (with SPF of course)

-Take Denver to the metroparks at least 3x a week

IMG_3577

-Go to the ocean

-For Mike & I to brew our own ginger beer

-Sit on patios sippin on drinks

-Read a ton of books

vis voice

-Write

-Learn more about blogging and different editing programs and software

-Get a hair cut

These locks are gettin way too long for a low-maintenance, no-styling-curling-drying-straightening gal like me. Okay, maybe I'm not low-maintenance, but I truly HATE styling my hair and I don't do it. So I need to do some chopping.

These locks are gettin way too long for a low-maintenance, no-styling-curling-drying-straightening gal like me. Okay, maybe I’m not low-maintenance, but I truly HATE styling my hair and I don’t do it. So I need to do some chopping.

-Go fishing with Mike

IMG_3574

-Always have a vase of flowers in the house

-Work out more period

-Go on picnics

-Make a new cocktail

IMG_2128

-And so much more

***

I’ve already started working on this list and summer hasn’t really officially started!

Yesterday, I tried my first class at Pure Barre in West Lake. I hadn’t really worked out in over a year…and if you want me to be perfectly honest, I hadn’t been involved in a workout routine or consistent schedule since… college (gasp!). I didn’t have any motivation to work out– being out of college, I wasn’t living the same drinking and dining hall lifestyle that I had for the previous 4 years, and so I lost a little weight. Vanity-wise, I stopped feeling the need to work out. I felt (and still feel) comfortable with my body (though I’d love to grow a few inches taller!), so I felt no inclination to work out. So for the past 3 years, aside from the occasional jog or push-up, I have been work-out free. A few weeks ago I was reading up on one of my new favorite Cle blogs, Shore Society, and Rachael mentioned that she had recently become a fan of Pure Barre. She said that it was fun, motivating place, even for a “non-gym rat”. That got me to thinking. Well, a  week or so later, I stumbled upon another great Cleveland blog, The Style Letters. Maria (the blogger behind the blog), had also written a few posts describing her experience with Pure Barre. That got me thinking some more. Then, AB, one of my best friends from college came over for a little ladies night a couple of weeks ago and told me she was going through training to become a Pure Barre instructor! Although I still don’t feel the need to lose weight, I would like to firm up and would love to get back that more spontaneous, happy feeling that comes with the endorphine-release from working out. So, I’m finally sold.

Despite the fact that I had not worked out in 3 years and not felt any urge to do so during that time, I suddenly got the itch again! So, yesterday I nervously went to my first Pure Barre class! And holy hell, was it hard!!! I am SO sore today, but I’ve actually found myself looking forward to going back! And I never look forward to working out. So for any of you non-worker-outers like me, if you’re looking for something different and motivating, look into Pure Barre! It’s expensive, but they have new-client specials & I’m thinking I can ask for a membership contribution for my birthday or something :D. I’ll keep you posted on my progress!

Until then, I’ll continue working my way through this list of summer wants. Anything you want to do this summer?

DSC_3272

Until next time!

~Steph

2 thoughts on “What Do You Want Wednesday? This Summer I Want….

  1. I love your list! We get back on Monday, let’s check something off your list next week!!! Would you guys be interested in going to the drive in? I have Mondays and Fridays off every week for the whole summer!!!

Leave a Reply

