Has It Really Been 5 Years?

*Sappy Disclaimer!

Today is Mike and my 5 year anniversary.

DSC_0689

When Mike & I met, I was in a sorority and April 19 was the night of our formal. We were outside dancing under the twinkling stars and the boy who could barely look me in the eye after our first kiss, smiled at me and asked me to be his girlfriend (that is not just reserved for middle-schoolers, you know). Obviously I agreed.

The next morning, my self-conscious 20 year-old self began to wonder how I got so lucky, landing such a sweet, intelligent, funny & handsome guy. In fact, I wondered about it so much that I drove myself into a panic (this happens from time to time) and convinced myself that I either dreamt that Mike asked me to be his girlfriend or that he hadn’t thought through the idea of asking me. I was anxiety-ridden and finally called him to have him come over so we could talk. When he got to my dorm room I was a great, big ball of nerves. My mouth was dry, my knees were shaky… how do you ask someone if he actually asked wants you to be his girlfriend? How does one open that up for conversation without sounding like a total nutcase? After some small talk, somehow I muttered out something like this: “Um, so last night we went to formal together. And…it was really fun. I had a great night. But, umm, do you remember at the end of the night? We were in the courtyard? And, um, we were dancing? Aaaaaanndddd…..I think you…um, asked me? To be your…umm…girlfriend?” Mike nodded and smiled. We had only been dating for a month or 2 so I didn’t know him well enough to read what his smiles meant yet. “So… you did. You asked me. To be your girlfriend.” Mike chuckled and said that yes, indeed he asked me. “So, you are my boyfriend then. You really want me to be your girlfriend? You’re really sure?” Now, if I was Mike I might have taken this opportunity to run away… there’s nothing like a low self-esteem to send a boy off running. But thank goodness he trusted that I wasn’t always going to need so much reassurance. We both laughed and smiled and hugged, celebrating our new title.

DSC_1721

Since then, we’ve grown into what I believe is the best team ever. We’ve given one another the support, inspiration, courage, and yes, even reassurance whenever it’s needed. We’ve created our own rituals and traditions. We’ve discovered the ways to make each other laugh…and the ways to piss each other off. We’ve traveled and seen new places. We’ve developed recipes and favorite meals. We’ve dealt with unwelcome surprises and challenges. We’ve moved to a new state and into new homes. We’ve gotten a dog who we’re learning so much from. We’ve bought a house which is perhaps the biggest adventure we’ve signed up for yet.

DSCF3302

No matter what happens, I look forward to seeing that beautiful, kind face each morning and each night. That face and that spirit… they are my home.

DSC_1644

In ways, I can’t believe it’s only been 5 years. In other ways, I can’t believe it’s already been 5 years. I feel like we’ve known each other forever and I also feel like we’re still learning new things about each other.  I know that over the years we will grow and change but I also know that because of this we will grow into a stronger couple. Mike– I always enjoy imagining our future together, but here are some highlights of our past:

1.) The rise and fall of Monday tv night

2) Time for the band to socialize!

3) naMASTY

4) Doug?

5) Moving to Denver

6) Moving to Cleveland

7) The almost adventure to the Longaberger Basket Factory

8) Trips to Dawes

9) Trips to the Short North our senior year

10) The Ping-Pong Song

11) Road Trips

12) Joy

13) When the cast of How I Met Your Mother were our bffs

… I’ll tell you about the rest of them at dinner tonight :o)

DSCF3353 DSCF3347 DSCF3344

Anyway, it’s been a beautiful 5 years, so Happy Anniversary.

DSCF3271

Though you and Van Morrison will always steal my heart away, here’s the song that makes me think of you most these days:

Rose of My Heart

-Johnny Cash (obvi)

We’re the best partners this world’s ever seen,
Together as close as can be.
But sometimes it’s hard to find time in between,
To tell you what you mean to me.You are the rose of my heart,
You are the love of my life.
A flower not fading nor falling apart,
If you’re tired, rest your head on my arm.
Rose of my heart.When sorrow holds you in its arms of clay,
It’s rain drops that fall from your eyes.
Your smile’s like the sun come to earth for a day,
You brighten my blackest of skies.You are the rose of my heart,
You are the love of my life.
A flower not fading nor falling apart,
If you’re cold, let my love make you warm.
Rose of my heart.

So hard times or easy times, what do I care,
There’s nothing I’d change if I could.
The tears and the laughter are things that we share,
Your hand in mine makes it good.

You are the rose of my heart,
You are the love of my life.
A flower not fading nor falling apart,
If you’re cold, let my love make you warm. 
Rose of my heart.

You are the rose of my heart,
You are the love of my life.
A flower not fading nor falling apart,
If you’re cold, let my love make you warm. 
Rose of my heart.

There’s nothing I’d change if I could. I love you.
IMG_3332
Until next time.
~Steph

 

2 thoughts on “Has It Really Been 5 Years?

  1. Pingback: It Really Has Been 5 Years | Beautiful Days Gone By

  2. Pingback: For Auld Lang Syne | Beautiful Days Gone By

Leave a Reply

