It’s Been A While

Hello! Sorry for the unintentional absence as of late! If you didn’t already know, Mike and I moved into our house last weekend! Things have been just a tad crazy around here.

Our place is the cutest, stinkiest lil fixer-upper you could ever imagine! When I say we have a LOT of work ahead of us, that’s an understatement. Every room in the house needs some kind of work– whether that means paint from ceiling to floor, plumbing solutions, or a total gut job. Even the exterior of the house will not escape our renovations unscathed. We’ve got it all in this hodge-podge we call home.

But I’ll tell ya, I LOVE it. It’s home. Can I describe to you how amazing it is not to walk Denver up and down 4 flights of stairs every time he needs to go to the bathroom? It’s AMAZING. Our house is a little bungalow/ranch so we just walk right outside now…easy as pie. Denver is all too aware of how easy it is actually… he’s a bit trigger-happy with his potty bell, ringing it as he pleases. I can’t blame him though– now he has windows that he can gaze through to see all of the action!

IMG_3316

In fact, Denver gets so excited looking out the window that he’s elected to perch right on top of his crate!

IMG_3315

Anyway, another reason I’ve been MIA from the blog is because in addition to moving, I started student-teaching again this week. This time around I’m with Upper Elementary students (9-12 year-olds) and I’ve got to admit– the math that they are doing is kind of scary! Finding square roots of numbers with over 3-digits, cube root, long division with double-digit divisors… this is all stuff I struggled with in school, and I still struggle with. The Montessori materials truly do help in making sense of everything, but as a trainee, I’m getting every single lesson that that we’d give to children over the course of 6 years in only 8 months! It’s more than I can actually absorb and process, so it’s scary diving in and giving lessons to these kids. I don’t want to mess ’em up!

So between student-teaching and moving and projects on the house, I’ve been a busy bee and clearly have been neglecting the blog! I haven’t been snapping nearly as many photos as usual, but here’s a bit of what I’ve been up to for the past week or so:

Taking walks through Lincoln Park (now it’s nearly across the street from us!)

IMG_3260

Drinks and pizza at one of our favorite local spots.

IMG_3261

Enjoying what we hope was the last spring snow and having some fun at the dog park (also a very short jaunt away now)

IMG_3276

IMG_3277

IMG_3294

IMG_3296

Much needed naps after playing in the snow. (Spoiler alert: Excuse Denver’s crotch shot, but I thought this sleeping pose was too silly not to share).

IMG_3286

Grilling out in our driveway… yeah, pretty hillbilly of us, but it’ll be a while before we build a deck and we’ve never had our own grill before so this is our set up for a while!

IMG_3299

Eating the best darn hot dogs EVER– Happy Dog. Mine has bacon-infused southern greens, habanero pickled red onions, everything-bagel cream cheese, bacon-balsamic marmelade, and a Dill pickle– all for $5.

IMG_3313

More window-watching.

IMG_3317

Assessing grimy rooms.

IMG_3311

Like, really grimy.

IMG_3308

*We have painted the room but I have’t taken pictures of it yet, so I’ll share them when I do.

Taking cuddle breaks from unpacking.

IMG_3280

And going to the Tuesday Farmer’s Markets at Lincoln Park with my handsome boys.

IMG_3307

And with that, I’m off to lesson plan and take my pooch outside (he’s ringing his darn bell AGAIN).

Until next time!

~Steph

Leave a Reply

