What to Get for My Darlin Companion?

Mike’s birthday is quickly approaching and (shhhh, don’t tell him) I don’t know what to get him! I mean, I have some ideas, but last year, I think I outdid myself, and now I’m a grad student pinching pennies and I feel like nothing I come up with will compare to last year!

We were living in Denver, CO which is a 6 hour drive from the glorious Telluride. I bought a Groupon for a 2 night stay in a cute little lodge about 40 minutes from the town of Telluride. It was such a great escape. We didn’t bring computers, there was no television in our room, and there was a heated salt water thermal pool that looked over the mountains. It was heaven. We went skiing, we trapsed around town buying rugged boots and tourist t-shirts, we drove around the beautiful country roads singing Johnny Cash and June Carter duets. We watched the sunrise. We talked and talked and talked. It was the best. I truly believe that Telluride and the area surrounding is the most beautiful place I have ever been.

DSC_1203

DSC_1207

DSC_1216

DSC_1182

DSC_1389

DSC_1245

DSC_1217

DSC_1263

DSC_1302

DSC_1368

DSC_1299

DSC_1400

DSC_1402

DSC_1413

So now what???

How can anything be as great as that birthday trip? I’m starting to panic here– stay tuned to see what I come up with. 11 days til the big 2-6 for Mister Mike.

P.S.

Here’s some of our favorite Cash & Carter songs– we ALWAYS sing these bad boys on road trips. I mean, is there any other way to have a road trip? Don’t think so.

1.) Jackson

2.)Darling Companion

3.) ‘Cause I Love You

Hope everyone had a lovely weekend– it was a gorgeous 68 degrees here in Cleveland!

Until next time.

~Steph

One thought on “What to Get for My Darlin Companion?

  1. Pingback: It Really Has Been 5 Years | Beautiful Days Gone By

Leave a Reply

