Happity Humpity- What Do You Want Wednesday?

Happy Hump Day Ya’ll!

2 more days until the weekend! So, you know what that means– time to think about what we want.

Or at least what I want.

So, the past week and a half, I’ve been practice teaching. It’s a part of my Montessori training program. We teach 2 weeks in a Lower Elementary room (that’s 6-9 year olds) and next month, we’ll have 2 weeks in an Upper Elementary room (9-12 year olds). My first assignment has been in Lower El, and it’s been great. (But, shhhhh, I’m a little scared for Upper El because all the kids will be taller than me!). Anyway, since I’ve started practice teaching, I’ve had a major shift in my attitude and confidence. And I guess it’s because I’m finally immersed in the activity and concept that’s been swimming around in my head all year. Instead of having time to think and worry and anticipate, I’m just in it.

what could go right

The past 7 months, being in grad school, away from real school– kid school with the pitter patter of little feet and the smell of crayons, it’s been rough. It’s been so rough in fact, that I found myself wondering if I’d taken the wrong path. Learning so many new skills but not having the opportunity to really put them into practice, I became overwhelmed and began to feel fearful of being in charge of a classroom. Fearful I don’t know enough. I was worrying myself away from teaching. All I thought about was what could go wrong….and now here I am, in the midst of it and a lot more is going right than wrong. It’s reminded me of of why I’m back in school myself.

I want to be a teacher.

🙂

I really do. Once again, I’m filled with excitement and anticipation about what is to come.

What do you want?

If you need some help deciding, here’s an idea:

Cleveland-Whiskey-Co

Read more about it here.

Ohio City’s Market Garden Brewery is hosting the official launch party this Friday.

On that note, happy hump day!

Until next time.

~Steph

2 thoughts on “Happity Humpity- What Do You Want Wednesday?

Leave a Reply

