Mountains or Molehills, Who Cares?

When Mike and I moved back from Colorado I knew I’d miss the majesty of the mountains and the ease with which you could escape the city. What I did not know was that I would find a place in Ohio that fits the bill.

DSC_2361

Shortly after the move back to Cleveland, I discovered the beauty of the Cuyahoga National Park. Though I grew up in Cleveland, I never realized that the parks surrounding my city were in fact, a wonder to behold. And it’s not like my parents kept me cooped up inside all the time– I remember taking countless bike rides and nature walks with my mom, but I suppose none of those journeys ever took me the Cuyahoga.

Well, suffice it to say that once I finally set foot in the park (actually pedal– I was riding my bike on my first visit) I found one of my favorite places in the Cuyahoga National Park.

My first visit was this past fall, bike riding with some of my classmates from my Montessori training.

IMG_2228

IMG_2272

IMG_2273

Now, you might not understand how the molehills around Cleveland measure up to the Rocky Mountains, but let me tell you something– they don’t need to measure up. The natural beauty that exists in the Cuyahoga National Park is all its own. It doesn’t need elevation or altitude. Maybe it’s not as awe-inspiring to the masses, but it doesn’t need to be. It’s different.

Since my first bike ride there last September, I have associated the park with a feeling of peace and a hope in the future. After a few weeks away, I ache to go back, and every time I go back, I feel centered and at home. I feel like I can handle my life again. I feel like if I really want something, I will find a way to get it.

Mike and I took Denver this past Saturday and though my mind’s been spinning with a million different conflicting thoughts lately, when we were driving back home, I felt okay. I felt hopeful.

DSC_2355

DSC_2360

DSC_2400

DSC_2409

DSC_2385

DSC_2417

DSC_2436

DSC_2443

DSC_2453

DSC_2455

DSC_2451

DSC_2450

DSC_2445

DSC_2446

DSC_2449

IMG_3179

IMG_3176

IMG_3167

rock skippin

rock skippin

look how many times it skipped!

We know, you skipped that rock a lot of times, Mike.

IMG_3175

IMG_3182

This is my special place.

Do you have one?

Until next time!

~Steph

Leave a Reply

