Wear your heart on your sleeve

DSC_1061

Literally! With the lovey-dovey, ooey-gooey, ushy-gushy Valentine’s Day coming up, I thought I’d share with you something I did for Mike last year. It’s a super cheap and easy Valentine’s Day DIY–and I promise you, I’m no seamstress.

I bought Mike a jersey zip up hoodie from Forever21–believe it or not, they have some great man-approved fashion steals.  I paid something like $12 for it and then I went to work. I just hand stitched it without a stencil, but if you’re nervous about doing that you can draw on your fabric with pen and stitch over that. And seriously guys– the only sewing term I know is cross stitch and that’s not even what I did. I just pushed a needle and thread in and out of this sweatshirt until it looked like something.

DSC_1058

So, if you want to give it a go, here’s what you need:

  • Sweatshirt (Or really anything– you could do this on a pillowcase or a t-shirt. A hint–choose thin material, it’s easiest to work with!)
  • Needle
  • Thread
  • Scissors

BAM! That’s all, folks. This probably doesn’t even count as a DIY, that’s how simple it is.

Mike loved the sweatshirt and appreciated the thought and effort I put into it. And because it’s subtle, he actually wears it!

DSC_1063

And he looks oh-so-cool.

Happy Friday, friends. Whether you have plans you’re excited about, stressful obligations, or no plans at all, at least plan to smile. It makes life so much better.

~Steph

Leave a Reply

