Rise and Shine Campers– It’s Groundhog Day!


Happy Groundhog Day everyone! I don’t know what it is about this day that I love so much, but I’ll tell ya what. For me, Groundhog Day feels a little bit like Christmas. On February 1st, I go to bed in my warmest jammies and as I try to fall asleep, I wonder– will Punxsutawney Phil see his little round shadow tomorrow morning? How many weeks of winter lay before us?? And of course, another reason I love Groundhog Day– Bill Murray and Andie MacDowell. And let’s not forget Ned– Needlenose Ned, Ned the Head, Ned Ryerson… BING!

Perhaps my Groundhog Day enthusiasm dates back to my younger years when my mom took me on a little road trip to Punxsutawney. I was maybe 8 years old. I don’t remember much about the trip except for an enormous (at least to me) bronze statue of Punxsutawney himself. So regal, that groundhog.

So this morning the little guy did not see his shadow which means…. spring should arrive early this year! Doesn’t feel that way by the looks of the snowflakes I am watching fall outside my window. But hey, I’m willing to have a little faith in Phil. Well, time to go get a bigger crate for our Denver boy. Then I think we’ll go frolic in the snow. And to wrap up this lovely Saturday, we’ll watch Groundhog Day. Obviously.

~Steph

2 thoughts on “Rise and Shine Campers– It’s Groundhog Day!

  1. Pingback: Happy Friday the 13th! | Beautiful Days Gone By

  2. Pingback: Happy Groundhog Day! | Beautiful Days Gone By

Leave a Reply

